Monday, January 24, 2022
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK) Newspaper اُردُو نیوز
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK)

3rd Test day one: New Zealand 229 for 7 at stumps

3rd Test day one: New Zealand 229 for 7 at stumps
December 4, 2018
ABU DHABI (92 News) – On the first day of the third and final test match between Pakistan and New Zealand at Abu Dhabi, New Zealand were 229 for 7 at stumps in Abu Dhabi on Monday. Skipper Kane Williamson scored 89 while BJ Watling finished with an unbeaten 42 after New Zealand — who won the toss and batted — were reduced to 73-4 at lunch. Yasir trapped opener Jeet Raval leg before with a faster one for 45. Raval reviewed but ball-tracking showed it would have hit leg stump. With his next ball, Yasir clean-bowled Ross Taylor as the batsman went back but completely missed the ball. Henry Nicholls saved the hat-trick but shortly after he attempted to sweep and Yasir flicking the ball as it went through to bowl him around his legs. Yasir, whose 14 wickets helped Pakistan level the series in Dubai, has 25 wickets in the series so far. It was teenage left-arm paceman Shaheen Shah Afridi, making his Test debut as a replacement for injured medium pacer Mohammad Abbas, who gave Pakistan their initial breakthrough and claim his first Test victim. On the other side, Kane Williamson struck a fighting half-century to delay leg-spinner Yasir Shah’s bid to become the fastest to 200 wickets on the opening day of the third Test. Yasir, who has figures of 3-26, needs another two wickets to complete 200 wickets and claim the record in his 33rd Test. It is currently held by Australian leg-spinner Clarrie Grimmett who reached 200 wickets in his 36th Test, against South Africa in Johannesburg in 1936. Team Squads: Pakistan: Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Bilal Asif, Hasan Ali, Yasir Shah, Shaheen Afridi. New Zealand: Tom Latham, Jeet Raval, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, B.J. Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Will Somerville, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult.