Sunday, June 16, 2024

Pakistan win third T20 against New Zealand to avoid sweep

Pakistan win third T20 against New Zealand to avoid sweep
December 22, 2020

NAPIER (92 News) – Pakistan registered four-wicket win in third T20 against New Zealand in Napier to avoid sweep on Tuesday.

Mohammad Rizwan single-handedly guides Pakistan to a victory in the third and final T20I against New Zealand with his match-winning 89-run knock.

Pakistan chased down 174 runs as Mohammad Rizwan cracked a 59-ball 89 at the top of the order.

Rizwan receiving praise for his fighting performance in today’s game. Blackcaps eye the T20 series as leading with a 2-0 lead against Pakistan.

Team Green make three changes to their side as Mohammad Hasnain, Iftikhar Ahmed and Hussain Talat come in for Abdullah Shafique, Imad Wasim, and Wahab Riaz.

Earlier, Pakistani Skipper Shadab Khan won the toss and elected to field first in the final T20I against New Zealand at McLean Park today.

 Pakistan made three changes in the playing XI but Sarfaraz Ahmed was not picked. Hussain Talat, Mohammad Hasnain and Iftikhar Ahmed have been included for the third match in place of Abdullah Shafiqe, Wahab Riaz and Imad Wasim.

On the occasion, after the toss, Shadab Khan said conditions are different and many players are playing here for the first time. “The young cricketers are definitely learning from this tour,” said the skipper.

Meanwhile, Kane Williamson said they made no changes in the squad adding they would try to set a good target for the visitors.

New Zealand completed back-to-back T20I series wins after Sunday's victory in Hamilton and seem to be shaping up well for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup next year.


Pakistan: Haider Ali, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Hussain Talat, Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Hasnain, Haris Rauf and Shaheen Afridi


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Tim Seifert (wk), Kane Williamson (capt), Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Kyle Jamieson, Ish Sodhi, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee and Trent Boult