Saturday, September 23, 2023

AJK elections: Tough contest expected on many seats

AJK elections: Tough contest expected on many seats
July 25, 2021

MUZAFFARABAD (92 News) - A tough contest is expected between the candidates of ruling PTI and opposition PML-N on many seats of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJ&K) Legislative Assembly.

It is pertinent to mention here that a total of 45 seats will be polled in the general elections to the Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly. Elections will be held for 33 seats in 10 districts of Azad Kashmir. 121 candidates are contesting for 12 constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir.

In AJK elections, 12 big contests are expected in 33 constituencies in the general elections to be held on Sunday, July 25.

PPP's Qasim Majeed and PML-N's Nazir Inqalabi will compete in LA-2 Mirpur, while Barrister Sultan Mehmood Chaudhry and PML-N candidate Chaudhry Saeed are facing each other in Mirpur LA-3.

The tough contest will be held between PML-N's Mushtaq Minhas and PTI's Tanveer Ilyas in LA-15 Bagh.

PML-N barrister Iftikhar Ali Gilani will face Khawaja Farooq.

Azad Kashmir Prime Minister Raja Farooq Haider and Sahibzada Ashfaq Zafar of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) are contesting.

Sardar Yaqub from PPP and Sardar Abdul Rashid from PML-N will face each other in Poonch LA-20. PML-N's Ghulam Qadir and PTI's Haji Gul are contesting in Neelam LA-25.