Tuesday, October 19, 2021
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)

Efforts for Senate Chairman election in top gear

Efforts for Senate Chairman election in top gear
March 4, 2018
ISLAMABAD (92 News) – Following yesterday’s Senate elections, Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League–Nawaz (PML-N) have started lobbying for the position of Senate chairman and both parties were in the process of contacting smaller parties as well as independent senators for support. The jostling comes a day after elections were held for 52 seats of the Upper House of Parliament, the outcome of which has seen the ruling PML-N and main opposition PPP getting almost equal representation in the Senate. Former president and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari has shifted his focus to opening the doors to win the Senate chairman slot. The ruling PML-N is expected to filed party chairman Raja Zafarul Haq as the candidate for the Senate chairman while, the name of Pervaiz Rasheed has also been circulating for the top slot. The king of reconciliation is said to be making his efforts to regain the slot of Senate Chairman by jacking up the number of his party’s senators in the upper house. PPP rivals, ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), which has boosted its seats in the upper house in yesterday’s Senate polls has also intensified contacts to win the coveted Senate office. Earlier, according to detailed official result released by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the ruling PML-N backed candidates have won majority seats from Centre and Punjab and Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) from Sindh and PTI from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in election for 52 vacant seats. The results show that PML-N has won 15 seats, PPP 12, PTI 6, National Party and Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party clinched two each while Jammiat Ulema Islam (F), Jamat Islami, MQM (Pak) and PML-F won one each. Ten independent candidates have also got victory in the Senate Election. The PML-N supported candidates have won both the Senate seats from the Federal Capital Territory. Hidayatullah, Shamim Afridi, Hilal-ur-Rehman and Mirza Muhammad Afridi have been elected as Senators against four FATA seats.    
تازہ ترین خبریں حاصل کرنے کے لیے فوری اطلاع کی اجازت دیں

آپ کسی بھی وقت دائیں طرف نیچے بیل آئیکن پر صرف ایک کلک کے ذریعے آسانی سے سبسکرائب کر سکتے ہیں۔