Friday, January 28, 2022
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK) Newspaper اُردُو نیوز
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK)

England to play Pakistan, Windies as part of Test Championship next year

England to play Pakistan, Windies as part of Test Championship next year
August 21, 2019
LONDON (Reuters) - England will host Pakistan and the West Indies in a total of six Test matches from June-August 2020 as part of the inaugural ICC World Test Championship, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) said on Wednesday. The competition involves the nine top-ranked Test nations competing in a league between July 2019 and April 2021, with the top two sides progressing to the final which will be held in England in June 2021. “The ICC World Test Championship will add significance and context to the test series against West Indies and Pakistan,” ECB chief executive officer Tom Harrison said in a statement. “Where every test matters, there will be lots of points to play for as England continue their efforts to reach the World Test Championship final.” England begin their 2020 programme with three Tests against the West Indies, with the first match starting at The Oval on June 4, followed by matches at Edgbaston and Lord’s. They then face Australia in three Twenty20 internationals starting July 3 with both teams looking ahead to the T20 World Cup Down Under. The 50-overs world champions then play Australia in three One-Day internationals. A three-Test series with Pakistan starting July 30 at Lord’s will be followed by three T20s against the same opponents and three ODIs against Ireland. England schedule 2020: West Indies: First Test: June 4-8, The Oval Second Test: June 12-16, Edgbaston Third Test: June 25-29, Lord’s Australia: First T20: July 3, Chester-le-Street Second T20: July 5, Old Trafford Third T20: July 7, Headingley. First ODI: July 11, Lord’s Second ODI: July 14, Rose Bowl Third ODI: July 16, Bristol Pakistan: First Test: July 30-August 3, Lord’s Second Test: August 7-11, Old Trafford Third Test: August 20-24, Trent Bridge First T20: August 29, Headingley Second T20: August 31, Sophia Gardens Third T20: September 2, Rose Bowl Ireland: First ODI: September 10, Trent Bridge Second ODI: September 12, Edgbaston Third ODI: September 15, The Oval