Saturday, December 4, 2021
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)

ICC World Cup: New Zealand to face Sri Lanka in opening match

ICC World Cup: New Zealand to face Sri Lanka in opening match
February 13, 2015
CHRISTCHURCH (Web Desk)-  New Zealand are all set to take on Sri Lanka in opening match of International Cricket Council (ICC) cricket World Cup 2015 which will be played on Saturday at Hagley Oval. New Zealand who have qualified for six time for semifinals but never made it to the final now they will try their luck once against under the leadership of Brandon McCullum. On the other hand World Cup 1996 winners Sri Lanka will be eyeing to finish their losing streak in the finals as they will start their hunt for the trophy. The Pool A match will began at 3:00 Am Pakistan Standard Time (PST). New Zealand will have the support of experienced Daniel Vettori heading the spin department and the accuracy and consistency of Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Kyle Mills and Mitchell McClenaghan makes the bowling formidable. And having match-winners with the bat like McCullum, Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor, as well as the explosive Corey Anderson, who can all single-handedly change the course of a game, only adds to its strength as a team. On the other hand Sri Lanka will be relying on experienced batsman and leading run scorers of Sri Lanka Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Tilllakaratne Dilshan while Lasith Maliga will lead the pace attack of the green shirts. Rangana Herath and Sachithra Senanayake will be handling spin department of Sri Lanka. Both teams are capable of winning the tournament now lets see who will win the first match of the tournament. Squads: Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan, Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Dushmantha Chameera, New Zealand: Brendon Mccullum, Trent Boult, Grant Elliot, Tom Latham, Martin Guptill, Mitchell Mcclenaghan, Nathan Mccullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Daniel Vettori, Kane Williamson, Corey Anderson,  Tim Southee, Luke Ronchi