Saturday, April 20, 2024

Ishaq Dar, Rana Mehmoodul Hassan win Senate elections

Ishaq Dar, Rana Mehmoodul Hassan win Senate elections
April 2, 2024 Web Desk

ISLAMABAD (APP) - Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz’s Muhammad Ishaq Dar and Pakistan Peoples Party’s Rana Mehmoodul Hassan on Tuesday emerged victorious in the Senate elections for the general and technocrat seats, respectively, in the federal capital.

Ishaq Dar secured 222 votes for the general seat, while Mehmoodul Hassan obtained 224 votes for the technocrat seat.

Mehmoodul Hassan was nominated by the Pakistan People's Party (PPP) for the general seat, whereas Muhammad Ishaq Dar was the nominee of the PML-N for the technocrat seat in the federal capital. Farzand Hussain and Raja Ansar Mehmood, representing the Sunni Ittehad Council, received 79 and 81 votes, respectively.

From Sindh, PPP's Dost Ali Jaisar, Rubina Qaimkhani, Sarmad Ali, Barrister Zameer Ghamro, Quratul Ain Mari and Kazim Jatoi have been elected as senators.