Wednesday, December 1, 2021
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)

Islamabad United crowned first PSL champions

Islamabad United crowned first PSL champions
February 24, 2016
DUBAI (92 News) – Islamabad United has won the final of first season of Pakistan Super League (PSL) beating Quetta Gladiators by six wickets in Dubai. Bating first, Quetta Gladiators scored 174 runs for the loss of seven wickets in stipulated 20 overs. For Quetta Gladiators, Ahmed Shahzad was the highest scorer with 64 runs. In reply, Islamabad United achieved the target in 18.4 overs for the loss of four wickets. For Islamabad United, Dwayne Smith made 73 runs and was declared man of the match. It was a near-perfect performance from Islamabad on the big stage, having been outplayed by Quetta in each of their two previous encounters. Misbah-ul-Haq, Islamabad's captain, capped off a truly dominant performance by clipping his first delivery to mid-wicket for a single to finish the tournament off on a rather poignant mood. It was only fitting that the captain, who had to lead Pakistan in the troubled aftermath of the attack on the Sri Lankan team bus and the spot-fixing scandal was around to finish the tournament that signifies a new dawn in Pakistan cricket. Quetta were the emotional favorites heading into the title clash. They put in another sparkling performance but turned out shot in the face of an inspired opponent, who had peaked just at the right time, winning each of their final five games to lift the shooting star trophy. Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif congratulated the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on successful arrangement and execution of PSL. The Prime Minister extended his heartfelt congratulations to all participating players and teams for playing enthusiastically throughout the tournament. The Prime Minister appreciated the role and efforts of PCB chairman Shaharyar Khan, PSL chairman Najam Sethi and all those who played a role in successfully arranging the event.