Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK) Newspaper اُردُو نیوز
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK)

Jonty Rhodes replaces Michael Slater as PSL 4 commentator

Jonty Rhodes replaces Michael Slater as PSL 4 commentator
February 13, 2019
LAHORE (92 News) – Former South African player Jonty Rhodes has been added to the Pakistan Super League’s commentary panel as a replacement of Michael Slater, said a press release issued by the PCB. Rhodes was one of the most popular cricketers in the 90s whose outstanding fielding abilities made him a household name in the cricketing world including Pakistan, Rhodes is keenly looking forward to being part of the PSL both in the UAE and Pakistan. “I have fond memories of my various tours to Pakistan, so you can imagine how thrilled I am to be heading out to UAE and Pakistan for PSL 2019 as part of a fantastic commentary team. Having played and coached there during my career, I know how much exciting talent the country holds and I look forward to giving my take on the competition and the players on show,” Jonty Rhodes said. Since retiring from international game, Rhodes has been involved with cricket in various capacities including commentary and broadcast. Rhodes would be joining the PSL on 21 February during the Sharjah leg; he would stay on for the entire duration of the league from there including the matches in Pakistan. The PSL begins in Dubai on Thursday, 14 February with the opening ceremony followed by the first game between defending champions Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars.
DPL appoints Jonty Rhodes as goodwill ambassador
Earlier, South African cricket legend Jonty Rhodes has been appointed as goodwill ambassador for the third edition of upcoming Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL 2019) cricket tournament, the organisers said in a press statement today. Also, Rhodes will assume mentor role for CYC Attariya along with Ryan Maron as head coach. According to DPL Chairman Subash Shahi, Rhodes appointment as goodwill ambassador would draw the attention of the International Cricket Council (ICC) and cricket fraternity around the world and in Nepal. “ICC has already approved the upcoming tournament.” Six teams–Dhangadhi Stars, Mahendranagar United, CYC Attariya, Biratnagar Kings, Rupendehi Challengers and Kathmandu Goldens, are competing for the coveted trophy, reads the statement.