Wednesday, December 7, 2022

Kashmiris vote for 12 seats of AJK Legislative Assembly across Pakistan

Kashmiris vote for 12 seats of AJK Legislative Assembly across Pakistan

KARACHI (92 News) - Polling for 12 refugee seats in Pakistan for the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly has started amid strict security measures across the country Sunday.

It is pertinent to mention here that these 12 seats are reserved for Kashmiri refugees who migrated from the Indian Occupied Jammu and Kashmir in 1947 and 1965 and are settled in various parts of Pakistan.

The voting has been underway to elect representatives for the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly.

In Rawalpindi division and Islamabad voters casting votes for three AJK Assembly seats. LA-93 Jammu-VI constituency comprises of Rawalpindi division and some parts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwan region with total 36,455 voters.

Meanwhile, LA-43 Valley-IV comprises of some parts of Rawalpindi division, with eight candidats in contest. The number of votes in the seat are 2457.

In the third seat of the Kashmir legislature LA-44 Valley-V 13 candidates competing for the seat with 6340 total votes.

In Peshawar, votes being cast for LA-45 constituency of the Kashmir assembly. The police has detained six persons over allegations of disrupting the electoral process.

People’s Party’s Senator Taj Haider has lodged a complaint to the election commission over firing near the polling stations 91, 92, 93, 94, 95 and 101 in the electoral constituency LA-10. “The firing damaged the vehicle of the People’s Party candidate,” Taj Haider said in his complaint.

Votes are also being cast at Karachi, Hyderabad, Ghotki, Sanghar and other areas of Sindh.

Some constituencies of the AJK Assembly are largest in terms of area such as Jammu-1 constituency, whose voters are spread over Punjab, Sindh, and Balochistan provinces, involving 48 districts.

The voters of another constituency reserved for refugees from Kashmir Valley are scattered around 27 districts of Sindh and Balochistan.


LA 34 – Jammu I [Balochistan, Sindh, Multan, Bahawalpur, Dera Ghazi Khan, Faisalabad, Sargodha, and Lahore]

PTI’s Riaz Ahmed

PPP’s Zahid Iqbal

PSP’s Shah Abdul Latif Faisal

PML-N’s Nasir Hussain Dar


LA 35 – Jammu II [Gujranwala, Hafizabad, Sialkot’s Daska, Pasroor and Samrial]

PML-N’s Ch. Muhammad Ismail

PPP’s Khalid Mehmood Chaudhary

PPP’s Muhammad Iqbal

PTI’s Maqbool Ahmad


LA 36 – Jammu III [Sialkot]

PPP’s Choudhry Shaukat Ali

PTI’s Hafiz Hamid Raza

PPP’s Faiz Ullah

PML-N’s Muhammad Ishaq


LA 37 – Jammu IV [Narowal]

PTI’s Muhammad Akmal Sargala

PML-N’s Muhammad Siddique Chaudhry

PPP’s Mazhar Yousaf Choudhary


LA 38 – Jammu V [Gujranwala’s Wazirabad, Gujrat, and Mandi Bahauddin]


PML-N’s Zeeshan Ali

PPP’s Muhammad Ashraf Chughtai

PTI’s Muhammad Akbar Chaudhry

JI’s Muhammad Umer Siddique


LA 39 – Jammu VI [Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Rawalpindi, and Islamabad]


PPP’s Chaudhry Fakhar Zaman

PML-N’s Raja Muhamamd Siddique

PTI’s Nazia Niaz


LA 40 – Kashmir Valley I [Balochistan and Sindh]


PSP’s Shabir Ahmed Khan

PML-N’s Tahir Ali Wani

PPP’s Amir Abdul Ghaffar Lone

PTI’s Muhammad Saleem Butt


LA 41 – Kashmir Valley II [Lahore]

PPP’s Shabbir Abbas Mir

PTI’s Ghulam Mohi-ud-Din Dewan

PML-N’s Muhammad Ikram Butt

All J&K MC’s Syed Maqsood Gillani


LA 42 – Kashmir Valley III [Bahawalpur, Multan, Dera Ghazi Khan, Gujranwala, Faisalabad, Jhelum, and Chakwal]

PPP’s Hafeez Ahmed Butt

All J&K MC’s Rana Sarfaraz Ahmed

JI’s Saeed Ahmed Khan

PML-N’s Syed Shoukat Ali Shah

PTI’s Muhammad Asif Sharif


LA 43 – Kashmir Valley IV [Ward 15 to 50 in Rawalpindi]

PTI’s Javed Butt

PPP’s Hamza Majid Bazmi

PML-N’s Naseema Khatoon 


LA 44 – Kashmir Valley V [Ward 1 to 14 of Rawalpindi, Cantonment ward 1 to 10, Islamabad, and Attock]

PTI’s Bashir Ahmed Khan

PML-N’s Muhammad Ahmed Raza Qadri

PPP’s Muhammad Rashid Aslam


LA 45 – Kashmir Valley VI [Khyber Pakhtunkhwa]

IND Ahmed Mushahid Mushtaq

IND Abdul Nasir Khan

PTI’s Abdul Majid Khan

JI’s Noor-ul-Bari