Monday, November 29, 2021
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)

Khattak elected chairman of committee to probe election rigging

Khattak elected chairman of committee to probe election rigging
November 7, 2018
ISLAMABAD (92 News) – A 30-member parliamentary committee on Wednesday unanimously appointed Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf leader Pervez Khattak as the committee, formed in order to probe into the alleged rigging in 2018 General Elections, chairman. The parliamentary committee formed to finalise the terms of reference (ToRs) for the impending probe into allegations of rigging during the 2018 elections held its opening session today. During the meeting, Pervez Khattak’s name for the chairperson’s position was proposed by Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) Naveed Qamar, a role which was assumed by the federal minister immediately, as no objections were raised against his election. The government had already nominated Defence Minister, Pervez Khattak as the chairman of the parliamentary committee, probing alleged rigging. On the other hand, Minister for Information Fawad Chaudhry said that the opposition claimed for rigging happened in the election. “The opposition has no answer to justify where the election rigging happened,” he asserted. He further said it was only propaganda to maintain carrier in the politics. Earlier on October 15, the government announced the formation of Parliamentary Committee on General Elections 2018 to probe alleged rigging in the general elections after hue and cry of the opposition. The committee comprises 10 MNAs and 10 Senators. The committee includes equal representation of members of the government and the opposition. The committee includes Pervez Khattak, Shireen Mazari, Shafqat Mehmood, Fawad Chaudhry, Amir Dogar, Azam Swati, Farogh Naseem, Muhammad Ali Saif, Khushbakht Shujaat and Nauman Wazeer. Tariq Basheer Cheema, Khalid Magsi, Aminul Haq, Ghaus Buksh Meher, Ayaz Sadiq, Mir Haider Azam Khan, Sarfaraz Bugti, Hadayatullah, Asad Junejo and Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidery are also a part of it. Other members include Raza Rabbani, Javed Abbasi, Rehman Malik, Usman Kakar, Kulsoom Parveen, Khursheed Shah, Pervaiz Ashraf, Naveed Qamar, Akhtar Mengal, Maulana Abdul Wasay, Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Sanaullh, Rana Tanveer Hussain, and Murtaza Javed. On September 18, the National Assembly had approved the formation of a parliamentary committee. Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi has assured the house that the committee will be fully authorised to accomplish these objectives.