Wednesday, January 26, 2022
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK) Newspaper اُردُو نیوز
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK)

Latham to lead CWC 19 back-ups in Brisbane one-dayers

Latham to lead CWC 19 back-ups in Brisbane one-dayers
April 12, 2019

WELLINGTON (92 News) - New Zealand batsman Tom Latham will lead a 13-man squad for three 50-over matches between New Zealand XI and Australia XI in Brisbane early next month.

New Zealand had announced their 15-member squad for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2019 earlier this month. Latham will be joined by fellow World Cup selections Henry Nicholls, Matt Henry, Jimmy Neesham and Tom Blundell. The rest of the squad is made up of players who failed to make the cut for the flagship event in England and Wales, but may be next in line, should injury strike any of the first-choice 15. New Zealand will be without the services of nine players, who are currently involved in the 2019 Indian Premier League, for the Brisbane games. Ross Taylor will also be missing in action as he will be on county duties for Middlesex.
Included in the squad are Doug Bracewell, George, Worker and Todd Astle, who have all played international cricket for New Zealand. Blair Tickner has played a solitary T20 International, while Daryl Mitchell and Will Young have no international experience. New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said that the games would provide the perfect opportunity for the England-bound players to get some quality match practice, and for the rest to show their mettle ahead of the prestigious tournament.

The matches will be a great opportunity for the rest of the squad to show their wares.

Gavin Larsen

"It’s an exciting challenge ahead of this group, who I know will relish the chance to take on the Australians at home," Larsen said. "The matches will be a stern test and provide quality preparation for those players bound for England and a great opportunity for the rest of the squad to show their wares. We’re backing them to give a good account of themselves." The three unofficial one-dayers will be played on 5, 7 and 9 May at the Allan Border Field. New Zealand XI: Tom Latham (c), Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Hamish Rutherford, Blair Tickner, George Worker, Will Young.