Monday, January 17, 2022
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK) Newspaper اُردُو نیوز
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK)

Najam Sethi unanimously elected new PCB chairman

Najam Sethi unanimously elected new PCB chairman
August 9, 2017
LAHORE (92 News) – Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has on Wednesday elected Najam Sethi as new Chairman of the cricket board on Wednesday. In a meeting by the Board of Governors (BoG), Sethi was unanimously elected and as left unchallenged for the post. Shahryar had quit as chairman citing health reasons but came back and completed his 3 years. With the appointment, Sethi has replaced Shaharyar Khan, whose three-year tenure at the post ended on Sunday. Sethi, who was also named on the PCB's BoG on 8 July, was the most prominent nominee for the post. As per PCB constitution, a chairman has to be selected from member of Board of Governors. Sethi was included in the board of Governors thanks to former Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif as a direct nomination. His place will be taken over by Arif Ejaz, also selected by Sharif. Earlier, former cricketers had insisted Sethi is the best choice for the role considering his experience and achievements during his tenure as head of the PSL chairman. It should be noted that this is the third time Sethi has been appointed for the PCB's top job. He had earlier served the post from June 2013 to January 2014 and February 2014 to May 2014.