Friday, January 28, 2022
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK) Newspaper اُردُو نیوز
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK)

Nation celebrates 70th year of Independence

Nation celebrates 70th year of Independence
August 14, 2017
ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The nation is celebrating 70th year of Independence today (Monday) with traditional fervor and enthusiasm and renewed pledge to safeguard the country against any threat and make it a true Islamic welfare state as envisioned by the founding father Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah. The day dawned with a salute of thirty-one gun in the federal and twenty one gun salute in provincial capitals. Special prayers were offered for the prosperity, integrity and solidarity of the country, unity of the Muslim Ummah and success of the long drawn struggle of Kashmiris after Fajar prayers. The main event of the day is a flag hoisting ceremony at the Convention Centre Islamabad where President Mamnoon Hussain will be the chief guest. He will address the nation on the occasion. President Mamnoon Hussain, Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Chinese Vice Premier Wang Yang will jointly unfurl the national flag. The President will address the nation on the occasion.     On the other hand, all major public and private buildings, roads and avenues have been tactfully decorated with illuminations, national flags, portraits of the national leaders, banners and buntings to give a festive look. A host of events including seminars, conferences, lectures, debates, speech contests, exhibitions, quiz competitions, stage dramas and mushairas have been arranged by different organizations in connection with the day. The President along with Prime Minister, Vice Premier of China, Chairman Senate and Speaker National Assembly will lay wreath at Monument of unsung heroes of democracy at the Parliament House on Monday.     A fireworks demonstration in connection with celebrations of Independence Day was organized at Parade Ground Shakarparian tonight at 11:59pm. In Azad Kashmir, flag hoisting ceremonies will be held at all District and Tehsil headquarters of the liberated territory. In Muzaffarabad, the flag hoisting ceremony will be held at President House, where AJK President Sardar Muhammad Masood Khan will raise the national flag. In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the main function in connection with Independence Anniversary will be held at Governor House in Peshawar on Sunday.