Tuesday, July 5, 2022

New Zealand announces schedule of series against Pakistan

New Zealand announces schedule of series against Pakistan
WELLINGTON/LAHORE (92 News) - The cricket authorities in New Zealand on Tuesday announced the schedule of series against Pakistan. In a statement, New Zealand released the details of Pakistan’s tour during which the green shirts will play three T20Is and two Test matches. New Zealand Cricket announced the schedule of matches with the West Indian team which will begin its tour with a Twenty20 match at Eden Park on Nov 27. The New Zealand government had green-lighted the West Indies and Pakistan tours and was also expected to approve white-ball tours by Australia and Bangladesh in February and March, the cricket board said. "We owe a huge debt of gratitude to the New Zealand government for helping us navigate this complex process," New Zealand Cricket Chief Executive David White said in a statement. "Hosting these tours is incredibly important to us for two reasons: international cricket brings in revenue that funds the entire game of cricket in New Zealand and, also, it's crucial that we look after the fans of the game and sport in general, especially during these difficult times."

Pakistan tour of New Zealand

Twenty20 matches
1st T20I, Eden Park (Auckland) on 18 Dec 2nd T20I, Seddon Park (Hamilton) on 20 Dec 3rd T20I, McLean Park (Napier) on 22 Dec
Test matches
1st Test, Bay Oval (Mount Maunganui) 26-30 Dec 2nd Test, Hagley Oval (Christchurch) 03-07 Jan After three T20s against West Indies, New Zealand play the first test against the Caribbeans at Seddon Park in Hamilton from Dec. 3 and the second at Wellington's Basin Reserve from Dec. 11. The Black Caps will also play three T20s against Pakistan before their test series, with the first test from Dec. 26 at Tauranga and the second from Jan. 3 in Christchurch. New Zealand's scheduled white-ball tour to Australia in January was postponed last week, but Australia are pencilled in for five T20s in New Zealand from Feb. 22, with Bangladesh to play three one-day internationals and three T20s from March 13. With no international cricket in New Zealand for the bulk of January and February, players will be released to appear in the "Super Smash" domestic T20 competition. White said NZC would cut the matches' general admission ticket prices by almost half to acknowledge the "challenging circumstances in which many New Zealanders had found themselves in the wake of the COVID-19 crisis."
PCB confirms dates for New Zealand tour
The schedule for Pakistan’s tour of New Zealand has been confirmed on Tuesday. According to a press release by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), the Green Caps will play three T20Is and two Test matches against the Blackcaps. The T20I series begins on December 18 in Auckland whereas Hamilton and Napier will host the remaining games on December 20 and 22 respectively. The first Test will be played at Mount Maunganui from December 26 whereas the second Test will be contested in Christchurch on January 3. The PCB stated that the team will depart on November 23 from Lahore and will undergo a 14-day quarantine period in Lincoln as per government regulations. “During this period, they will be restricted to the bio-secure bubble and will not be allowed to take part in any cricket-related activity. The bio-secure bubble will expire following the 14-day quarantine period,” the release read.