Monday, February 26, 2024

Pakistan announces 20-man T20I squad for South Africa series

Pakistan announces 20-man T20I squad for South Africa series
January 31, 2021

LAHORE (92 News) - The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the 20-man squad for the upcoming T20I series against South Africa on Sunday.

This was announced by Pakistan Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim. Wahab Riaz and all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez were excluded from the squad.

The 20-member squad comprises of the following players:

Babar Azam, Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Hussain Talat, Danish Aziz, Asif Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Zafar Gohar, Faheem Ashraf, Aamer Yamin, Amad Butt, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mehmood

As per the precedent set by Wasim in the Test squad, the T20I group, too, featured a bunch of domestic stalwarts such as and others who had long been forgotten Zafar Gohar, Amad Butt, Zahid Mehmood and Danish Aziz, and also marked the return of forgotten men Aamer Yameen and Asif Ali.

Among the notable absentees were veterans Mohammad Hafeez and Wahab Riaz, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Musa Khan, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan and Abdullah Shafique.