Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Pakistan beat Netherlands by 81 runs in World Cup

Pakistan beat Netherlands by 81 runs in World Cup
October 6, 2023 Web Desk

HYDERABAD, India (AFP) - Pakistan beat the Netherlands by 81 runs to open their World Cup campaign in Hyderabad on Friday, after half centuries from Saud Shakeel and Mohammad Rizwan.

The Netherlands were bowled out for 205 in 41 overs with de Leede scoring 67.

Earlier, Dutch all-rounder Bas de Leede took four wickets as Pakistan were bowled out for 286, derailing an innings which featured half-centuries from Saud Shakeel and Mohammad Rizwan.

De Leede finished with 4-62 to bring the Netherlands back into the game after Shakeel struck an attractive 52-ball 68 and Rizwan's 75-ball 68 had boosted Pakistan after they were sent in to bat at Rajiv Gandhi Stadium.

Netherlands justified the decision to bowl first as pacer Logan van Beek had out-of-form opener Fakhar Zaman caught and bowled for 12 in the fourth over. Spinner Colin Ackermann then claimed the prized wicket of Pakistan skipper Babar Azam for five before Paul van Meekeren dismissed Imam-ul-Haq for 15 to leave Pakistan tottering at 38-3.

Shakeel and Rizwan -- playing their first World Cup match -- steadied the innings with a solid 120-run stand for the fourth wicket but three wickets fell in the space of 24 balls for 30 runs. Shakeel, who struck nine boundaries and a six, miscued a sweep off spinner Aryan Dutt before De Leede bowled Rizwan and had Iftikhar Ahmed for nine. Rizwan hit eight boundaries.

Pakistan were further lifted as Mohammad Nawaz (39) and Shadab Khan (32) added 64 for the seventh wicket but De Leede dismissed Shadab and Hasan Ali off successive deliveries. Nawaz was run out in the 47th over before Haris Rauf's dismissal off Ackermann finished the innings in 49 overs.



Fakhar Zaman c and b van Beek        12

Imam-ul-Haq c Dutt b van Meekeren    15

Babar Azam c Zulfiqar b Ackermann     5

Mohammad Rizwan b de Leede           68

Saud Shakeel c Zulfiqar b Dutt             68

Iftikhar Ahmed c Edwards b de Leede   9

Mohammad Nawaz run out                   39

Shadab Khan b de Leede                    32

Hasan Ali lbw b de Leede                     0

Shaheen Shah Afridi not out                13

Haris Rauf st Edwards b Ackermann   16

Extras (nb1, w8)                                    9

Total: (all out; 49 overs)          286

Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Zaman), 2-34 (Azam), 3-38 (Haq), 4-158(Shakeel), 5-182 (Rizwan), 6-188 (Iftikhar), 7-252 (Shadab), 8-252 (Hasan), 9-267 (Nawaz), 10-286 (Rauf)

Bowling: Dutt 10-0-48-1 (w2), van Beek 6-0-30-1 (1w), Ackermann 8-1-39-2, van Meekeren 6-0-40-1 (w2), de Leede 9-0-62-4 (w3), van der Merwe 6-0-36-0 (1nb), Singh 2-0-16-0, Zulfiqar 2-0-15-0,


V. Singh c Zaman b Shadab            52

M. O'Dowd c Shaheen b Hasan       5

C. Ackermann b Iftikhar                    17

B. de Leede b Nawaz                       67

T. Nidamanuru c Zaman b Rauf       5

S. Edwards lbw b Rauf                     0

S. Zulfiqar lbw b Shaheen               10

R. van der Merwe run out                4

L. van Beek not out                         28

A. Dutt b Hasan                               1

P. van Meekeren b Rauf                  7

Extras: (w9)                                     9

Total: (all out, 41 overs)                   205

Fall of wickets: 1-28 (O'Dowd), 2-50 (Ackermann), 3-120 (Singh), 4-133 (Nidamanuru), 5-133 (Edwards), 6-158 (Zulfiqar), 7-164 (de Leede), 8-176 (van der Merwe), 9-184 (Dutt), 10-205 (van Meekeren)

Bowling: Shaheen 7-0-37-1 (w2), Hasan 7-1-33-2 (4w), Rauf 9-0-43-3 (w2), Iftikhar 3-0-16-1, Nawaz 7-0-31-1, Shadab 8-0-45-1 (1w)

Result: Pakistan win by 81 runs

Toss: Netherlands

Umpires: Chris Brown (NZL) and Adrian Holdstock (RSA)

TV umpire: Rod Tucker (AUS)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL).