Wednesday, February 1, 2023

Pakistan grab two late wickets to stall Australia

Pakistan grab two late wickets to stall Australia
BRISBANE - Pakistan's bowlers took two quick wickets to slow Australia's charge after the home side's openers dominated the opening session of the day-night first test in Brisbane on Thursday. Paceman Mohammad Amir struck to remove opener David Warner lbw for 32 and spinner Yasir Shah had number three batsman Usman Khawaja caught for four as the tourists limited Australia to 89 for two at tea on a hot and sunny day at the Gabba. Matt Renshaw, who enjoyed a 70-run opening partnership with Warner, was unbeaten on 46 at the break, and his captain Steve Smith had scored four. Smith won the toss, his first in seven matches, to put his team into bat and Warner and Renshaw moved serenely past 50 on a benign pitch that initially offered little for the bowlers. With seamers Amir and Rahat Ali failing to trouble the openers, Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq wasted little time introducing leg-spinner Yasir in the 10th over. It was Amir who found the breakthrough, however, with a delivery that just moved a little before thudding into Warner's pad. Khawaja then fell for a leg-side trap, spooning a simple catch straight to Misbah at short midwicket. Australia were unchanged from the side that defeated South Africa in the dead rubber test in Adelaide, with spinner Nathan Lyon retained along with the pace trio of Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Jackson Bird. Misbah and Yasir returned to the side for Pakistan after missing the second test against New Zealand in Hamilton. Both teams enter the three-match series in uncertain form, with a rebuilding Australia beaten by 2-1 against South Africa, but reversing their slide with a comprehensive win in the day-night test at Adelaide Oval. Pakistan lost 2-0 in New Zealand and are bidding to win their first series in Australia.   SCOREBOARD
Australia 1st innings      
M. Renshaw                      not out                   46 
D. Warner                       lbw b Amir                32 
U. Khawaja                      c Misbah-ul-Haq b Shah    4  
S. Smith                        not out                   4  
Extras                          (lb-1 nb-2)               3  
Total                           (for 2 wickets, 30 overs) 89 
Fall of wickets: 1-70 D. Warner,2-75 U. Khawaja
To bat: P. Handscomb, N. Maddinson, M. Wade, M. Starc, J. Hazlewood, N. Lyon, J. Bird
M. Amir                         9 - 2 - 22 - 1               
R. Ali                          5 - 0 - 18 - 0               
Y. Shah                         10 - 0 - 30 - 1              
W. Riaz                         5 - 1 - 10 - 0(nb-2)         
Az. Ali                         1 - 0 - 8 - 0                
Umpire: Ian Gould                                            
Umpire: Richard Illingworth                                  
TV umpire: Sundaram Ravi                                     
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle -Reuters