Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Pakistan thrash Bangladesh in second T20I, register series win

Pakistan thrash Bangladesh in second T20I, register series win
November 20, 2021 Web Desk

DHAKA (92 News) – Batters Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Rizwan made light work of a 109-run chase as Pakistan won the second T20I by eight wickets to secure a 2-0 series win with one match of the three-match T20I series to spare against Bangladesh at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium Mirpur, Dhaka on Saturday.

Player of the match Fakhar who scored 34 runs in yesterday’s four-wicket win at the same venue, top-scored with a blazing unbeaten 57 off 51 balls (three sixes, two fours) while Rizwan contributed 39 off 45 balls (four fours) as Pakistan went past the target in the 19th over with 11 balls to spare.

Fakhar finished the match in company of Haider Ali (six not out). Rizwan and Fakhar added 85 for the second-wicket after the tourists lost captain and opener Babar Azam for one in the third over of the innings.

Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bat first. Fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi who replaced Hasan Ali in the Pakistan eleven struck in his first over as Saif Hassan was dismissed lbw for a first ball duck. Mohammad Wasim Jnr dismissed the other opener Mohammad Naim (2) in the second over to leave the hosts tottering at five for two.

Najmul Hossain and Afif Hossain added 46 runs for the third-wicket for what was the best partnership of the innings. Afif was dismissed for 20 by Shadab Khan with wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan taking the catch behind the stumps.

Bangladesh kept losing wickets at regular intervals as Pakistan bowlers’ maintained control of the proceedings on another challenging pitch.

Najmul top-scored with 40 off 34 balls (five fours). Afif who scored 20 was the only other batter to make a significant contribution.

For Pakistan Shaheen and Shadab took two wickets each, Wasim, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Nawaz took a wicket apiece.

The third and final match of the series will be played at the same venue on Monday, November 22.

Scores in Brief:

Pakistan beat Bangladesh by eight wickets

Bangladesh 108 for 7, 20 overs (Najmul Hossain 40, Afif Hossain 20; Shaheen Shah Afridi 2-15, Shadab Khan 2-22)

Pakistan 109 for 2, 18.1 overs (Fakhar Zaman 57 not out, Mohammad Rizwan 39; Mustafizur Rahman 1-12)

Player of the match: Fakhar Zaman