Saturday, January 29, 2022
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK) Newspaper اُردُو نیوز
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK)

Parliamentary committee approves names for ECP members

Parliamentary committee approves names for ECP members
July 25, 2016
ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The Parliamentary Committee has on Monday approves the names of four members of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP). The committee nominated four members of the election commission, one from each federating unit. Sources said that the parliamentary committee nominated Justice (r) Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi from Punjab, Former Bureaucrat Abdul Ghaffar Somroo, from Sindh, female member Justice (r) Irshad Qaiser from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Justice (r) Shakeel Ahmed Baloch as the ECP member from Balochistan. The federal government and the opposition had sent 12 names each after failing to reach over consensus. The names nominated by the Prime Minister and the Opposition Leader were sent to the Chairman, Parliamentary Committee for selecting four names. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) did not take part in the voting process. Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Pervaiz Rashid said that the Election Commission would not have formed if PTI chairman Imran Khan was given authority.