Wednesday, December 6, 2023

PML-N leaders declare PTI-led govt as ‘master of u-turns’

PML-N leaders declare PTI-led govt as ‘master of u-turns’
January 28, 2019
ISLAMABAD (92 News) – Pakistan Muslim League-N leaders termed the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) led government as ‘master of taking u-turns’. Addressing a press conference, former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi said that the incumbent government takes a u-turn on every matter.He said that the current situation of the country is in front of everyone and the economy is in dire straits. “The economy does not run through tweets but practical measures,” the PML-N leader mentioned. He also said that his party is ready for accountability. “Accountability can begin from me and my cabinet,” he added. Abbasi lamented that there is no merit in the country, adding that the government which cannot give merit on the fixing of a single gas meter, how can provide the merit in all the affairs. “If there was any merit then Usman Buzdar would not have been chief minister Punjab, he explained. On the occasion, PML-N senior leader and former interior minister Ahsan Iqbal said that Pakistan was established with hard working of day and night but now the incumbent rulers destroyed. He said that now the citizens are being faced by the big problem of unemployment in Pakistan. “If the government is serious in making Bahawalpur and South Punjab provinces, the PML-N will support them unconditionally,” Ahsan Iqbal said. He also expressed fear that Prime Minister Imran Khan may take a u-turn on the formation of South Punjab as province.
PML-N submits bill for creation of new provinces
It is pertinent to mention here that the PML-N submitted a constitutional amendment bill in the National Assembly for the creation of Bahawalpur and South Punjab provinces. The bill stated that the province of Bahawalpur will comprise the existing administrative division of Bahawalpur. The South Punjab province will comprise existing administrative divisions of Dera Ghazi Khan and Multan. After the formation of the new provinces, these divisions would be excluded from Punjab. Total National Assembly seats for Bahawalpur province would be 18 (15 general and 3 women), while South Punjab would have 38 (31 general and 7 women) seats. Further, if the bill is passed Bahawalpur province will have 39 provincial assembly seats and South Punjab 80.