Sunday, September 25, 2022

PML-N’s Shehryar Awan wins PP-23 Talagang by-polls

PML-N’s Shehryar Awan wins PP-23 Talagang by-polls

TALAGANG (92 News) – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Malik Shehryar Awan has won PP-23 Talagang by-elections.

According to unofficial results, PML-N candidate Malik Shehryar Awan obtained 72,071 votes.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Sultan Surkhru stood second by securing 51063 votes.

Workers of the PML-N celebrated the victory of their candidates in their offices.

Earlier, the polling for by-election in Punjab’s PP-23 Talagang started on Tuesday, which continued till 5 pm without any break.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has set up 199 polling stations. Security forces were deputed in and out of the polling stations to maintain the law and order situation.

Eight candidates of different political parties had contested the by-polls, however, a close contest was expected between Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Malik Sheharyar Awan and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Sultan Surkhru.