Tuesday, May 30, 2023

PSL 2020: Islamabad United beats Lahore Qalandars by 1 wicket

PSL 2020: Islamabad United beats Lahore Qalandars by 1 wicket
February 24, 2020 Web Desk

LAHORE (92 News) – Islamabad United defeated Lahore Qalandars by one wicket in the seventh match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) Season Five at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Sunday.

Mohammad Musa was instrumental in the very end to deliver the finish for Islamabad United. Unexpectedly, the tail-ender hit a six and two much-needed fours to provide a good stand with Ahmad Safi Abdullah to ensure Islamabad went home with the victory. Islamabad United openers did not fare well. Ronchi and Munro were dismissed for 1 and 2 respectively.

Shaheen Afridi dismissed Ronchi while Hafeez made short work of Munro to put Islamabad on the back foot. However, Shadab Khan performed with the bat to lead Islamabad’s revival. He made 54 runs from 29 balls before Haris Rauf dismissed him. The United skipper had some support from Malan who scored a run-a-ball 22 runs before Wiese dismissed him.

Colin Ingram provided much-needed support to Shadab by contributing with an impressive 30 runs from 14 balls, hitting three sixes. Shaheen Afridi bowled exceptionally well by getting rid of Hussain Talat and Amad Butt for 5 and 8 respectively to ensure Lahore Qalandars were back in the game. Afridi was the pick of the Qalandars’ bowlers as he picked up four very important wickets and gave away only 18 runs from his four overs.

Haris Rauf pitched in with two wickets as well but went for an expensive 41 runs. Earlier,Lahore Qalandars set 183-run target for Islamabad United in their seventh Pakistan Super League 2020 clash.Mohammad Hafeez contributed 98-run in the total scoreboard. The Qalandars, who lost their first match to Multan Sultans at the same venue yesterday, are looking for their maiden victory in the tournament.

Qalandars got off to a fiery start as opener Fakhar Zaman (33) struck a spectacular boundary on the very first ball of the innings. Zaman was supported by Chris Lynn (11), who was dismissed by Musa in the third over. Lynn was replaced by Mohammad Hafeez, who has turned into a run machine for his team, with five sixes and seven boundaries. Zaman (33) seemed to be headed for an impressive knock but was bowled by United skipper Shadab Khan in the 11th over. Shadab also dismissed Dane Vilas in the 13th over.

Earlier, Islamabad United won the toss and opted to field first against Lahore Qalandars in the seventh match of Pakistan Super League 2020 at the Gaddafi Stadium Lahore. Islamabad United won their second match of the season against Multan Sultans by 8 wickets on Saturday. A day earlier, Lahore Qalandars had lost their first match of PSL 2020 against the Sultans a day earlier. Earlier today, Quetta Gladiators beat Karachi Kings by five wickets to beat them in a match that went down the wire.

An impressive contribution from Azam Khan and skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed played a captain’s inning to ensure his team secured the victory in the end. Squads Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (c), Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi, Colin Ingram, Dawid Malan, Hussain Talat, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Ammad Butt, Ahmed Saifi Abdullah, Musa Khan Lahore Qalandars: Sohail Akhtar (c), Chris Lynn, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Dane Vilas, David Weise, Samit Patel, Mohammad Faizan Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Usman Shinwari