Sunday, January 23, 2022
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK) Newspaper اُردُو نیوز
اُردُو نیوز Newspaper
Live-TV(PK) Live-TV(UK)

Sanjrani announces panel of presiding officers

Sanjrani announces panel of presiding officers
July 23, 2019
ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The Senate session on Tuesday started with recitation of verses from the Holy Quran. Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani was in the chair. In the very onset, the chairman announced panel of presiding officers including Senators Sitara Ayaz, Ahmed Khan and Agha Shahzaib Durrani. The Senate chairman ruled not to include business proceedings outside the jurisdiction; however, the Senate session was adjourned for indefinite period of time. The panel of presiding officers will act in absence of both the chairman and deputy Chairman. A day earlier, the opposition Senators held a session to discussed ‘no-confidence motion’ against Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani.
Opposition Leader in National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif chaired the meeting of opposition parties. The 53 senators of Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N), Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP), Jamiat-e-Ulema-e-Islam-F (JUI-F) and other parties attended the meeting. According to the sources, the members formulated strategies to make the mission of removing Sadiq Sanjrani successful. They also put forward different suggestions in this regard. Earlier in the previous session, the opposition senators refused to take back the no-confidence motion against the chairman of upper house. The opposition senators convened a session to review their strategy for the ‘no-confidence motion’ against the chairman on their requisition. The opposition leaders said that they would change the Senate chairman at every cost. He also suggested to chairman that he should resign himself so that the numbers of senators are 66 against him. He claimed that horse trading plus happening and their senators are receiving telephone calls. According to the reports, 54 senators attended the session of opposition against the upper house chairman for no-confidence motion. It is pertinent to mention here that 52 votes are required to change the Senate chairman. The meeting presided over by the leader of opposition in house Raja Zafarul Haq of the Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N). A delegation of the Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) headed by Senator Sherry Rehman attended the meeting. On Tuesday, Sadiq Sanjrani approved a notice for the Motion for Removal of Chairman Senate in terms of Rule 12 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Senate, 2012. Accordingly, the Senate secretariat has circulated the notice among the members and written a letter to the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs for further necessary action at its end. However, it is still not clear that the no-confidence motion can be moved in a requisitioned or a regular session of the Senate. Earlier, the opposition’s Rehbar Committee had agreed over the name of National Party Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo for the candidate of Senate chairman .