Monday, October 2, 2023

Unofficial results: MQM-P retains NA-240 seat

Unofficial results: MQM-P retains NA-240 seat
June 17, 2022 Web Desk

KARACHI (92 News) – Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) retained the National Assembly constituency NA-240 by-election.

According to unofficial results, MQM-P candidate Muhammad Abu Bakar won the NA-240 by-election by securing 10,683 votes. Shahzada Shahbaz of Tehreek-e-Labaik Pakistan (TLP) remained second by obtaining 10,618 votes while Rafiufdin Faisal of Muhajir Qoumi Movement secured third position with 8,383 votes.

The seat had fell vacant due to death of Iqbal Muhammad Ali of MQM Pakistan.

Earlier, a man had killed while several others injured in violence during the by-election to NA-240. Workers of different parties had clashed with each other at several polling stations. Violent workers had pelted each other with stones. Unknown people had taken away ballot boxes during the violence.

A very low turnout had witnessed during the polling. A tough contest is likely among the candidates of the MQM, the PPP, PSP and Tehreek-e-Labaik Pakistan. The PTI and the Jamaat-e-Islami have boycotted the elections.