Monday, September 26, 2022

Will not accept results, Maryam Nawaz strongly reacts to AJK polls

Will not accept results, Maryam Nawaz strongly reacts to AJK polls

LAHORE (92 News) - PML-N) Vice-President Maryam Nawaz has strongly rejected the AJK polls results, saying that she has not accepted the results and will not.

Taking to Twitter, PML-N Vice-President said that her party fought hard but it is not easy to deal with fraud.

"I have not accepted the results and will not. I have not even acknowledged the results of this fake government. Congratulations to the workers and voters. What will be the course of action on this shameless fraud, the party will decide soon, God willing," Maryam tweeted.

"PML-N has fought a very good election, has fought hard. It is not easy to deal with all the centers of state and power and fraud. I would like to commend all the voters and workers of PML-N for their courage and bravery. I am very proud of them," the PML-N vice president said in another tweet.

On the other hand, the PTI has clinched most seats in the Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) Legislative Assembly and got simple majority to form the next government in AJK.

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results, the PTI won in 25 constituencies — nine of them in Pakistan — followed by the Pakistan Peoples' Party (PPP) in 10 constituencies (one of them in Pakistan) and PML-N in six constituencies (two of them in Pakistan).

Muslim Conference and Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Party have secured one seat each.

Among the winners was PTI’s regional chief Barrister Sultan Mahmood who secured his seventh success in the nine general elections held in LA-3, Mirpur-III since 1985. Apart from these nine general elections, two by-elections were also held in this constituency and both were won by him. The only elections he could not win were the general elections of 1991 and 2016.

Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry, Khawaja Ahmed Farooq, Sardar Tanvir Ilyas, Diwan Khan Chughtai, Chaudhry Arshad and Ch. Anwar-ul-Haq have won their seats.

PML-N candidates Raja Farooq Haider and Shah Ghulam Qadir have also retained their seats.

Ex-Prime Minister of AJK and chief of Muslim Conference Sardar Attique Ahmed Khan has been declared successful on LA-14 Bagh.

A total of 587 candidates contested the elections in 33 constituencies of Azad Kashmir districts and 121 candidates on 12 constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir refugees settled in Pakistan.

Talking to APP, AJK Secretary Election Commission Muhammad Ghazanfar Khan said the General Elections were held in a free, fair and transparent manner.

He expressed satisfaction over the law and order and appreciated the performance of the police and the Pakistan army for ensuring the peaceful conduct of the elections.