Arif Alvi takes oath as 13th President of Pakistan

09 Sep, 2018 1:35 pm

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – Newly-elected President Dr Arif Alvi took oath as the 13th president of Pakistan at a ceremony held in Islamabad on Sunday (today).

Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice Mian Saqib Nisar administered oath to the president.

The ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Imran Khan, Chief of Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa, Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee (CJCSC) General Zubair Mahmood Hayat, members of the federal cabinet, judges, and foreign ambassadors. Outgoing President Mamnoon Hussain was also present on the occasion.

Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Finance Minister Asad Umar, Defence Minister Pervez Khattak, Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry, Railways Minister Sheikh Rashid, NA Speaker Asad Qaiser, Punjab Governor Chaudhry Sarwar, Sindh Governor Imran Ismail, Sindh Chief Minister Murad Shah and Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar also attended the ceremony.

The Saudi information minister, Awwad Bin Saleh Al Awwad, who is in Islamabad on an official visit, was also in attendance.

The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) candidate Dr Arif Alvi won the presidential election held on Sep 4 with 352 votes, followed by PML-N backed candidate Maulana Fazlur Rehman who managed to secure 184, while Aitzaz Ahsan of the PPP bagged 124 votes.

Alvi ran for the seat of Provincial Assembly of Sindh as a candidate of PTI from constituency PS-114 (Karachi) in General Election 1997, however, he remained unsuccessful.

He ran for the seat of Provincial Assembly of Sindh in General Election 2002 as a candidate of PTI from constituency PS-90 (Karachi-II) but remained unsuccessful. He secured only 1,276 votes in the poll.

He served as the secretary general of PTI from 2006 to 2013.

Must Watch