Britain host Uzbekistan in Davis Cup World Group playoffs

10 Apr, 2018 11:55 pm

LONDON (Reuters) – Former champions Britain will host Uzbekistan in the Davis Cup playoffs in September as they bid to retain their spot in the World Group for the 2019 season.

In other ties, 2016 winners Argentina take on Colombia, Switzerland welcome Sweden and India travel to Serbia following the draw at the International Tennis Federation (ITF) headquarters in London on Tuesday.

The losing nations will compete in their respective Zone Group I events next season. Matches will be held between Sept. 14-16.

Britain, who won the trophy in 2015 when Andy Murray led them to their first title for 79 years, were beaten by five-time winners Spain in the first round in February.

Defending champions France host Spain while Croatia welcome the US in the World Group semi-finals which also take place in September.

Davis Cup World Group playoffs draw

Britain v Uzbekistan

Argentina v Colombia

Austria v Australia

Switzerland v Sweden

Serbia v India

Canada v Netherlands

Hungary v Czech Republic

Japan v Bosnia

(Ties played Sept. 14-16)

Must Watch