ECP officially announces Arif Alvi as new President of Pakistan

05 Sep, 2018 2:11 pm

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) announced official results of the presidential elections On Wednesday (today) after completion of consolidation process.

According to the official results, Dr Arifur Rehman Alvi of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf has been elected the next President of Pakistan by securing 352 votes. The Pakistan Muslim League-N backed candidate Maulana Fazlur Rehman bagged 184 votes and PPP’s candidate Aitzaz Ahsan 124 votes.

In all, one thousand one hundred and ten members of the National and provincial assemblies and the Senate exercised their right to vote.

During the tabulation process carried out by Chief Election Commissioner Sardar Muhammad Raza in Islamabad today, one thousand and eighty two votes were declared valid and twenty eight votes invalid.

In the National Assembly and the Senate, Arif Alvi took 212, Fazlur Rehman 131 and Aitzaz Ahsan 81.

In Punjab Assembly, Arif Alvi bagged 33 votes, Maulana Fazlur Rehman 25 and Aitzaz Ahsan 1 vote. In Sindh Assembly, Arif Alvi secured 22 votes, Aitzaz Ahsan 39 and Maulana Fazlur Rehman zero.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, Arif Alvi took 40, Maulana Fazlur Rehman 13 and Aitzaz Ahsan 3.

In Balochistan Assembly, Arif Alvi got 45 votes, Maulana Fazlur Rehman 15 whilst no vote was polled in favor of Aitzaz Ahsan.

Must Watch