ECP suspends 332 lawmakers for non-disclosure of assets

ECP Ahsan Iqbal Balochistan ECP election commission of pakistan Fawad Ch KP Assembly lawmakers NA Natyional Assembly parliamentarians Punjab Assembly Senate Sindh Sindh Assembly
16 Jan, 2019 5:45 pm

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday suspended the memberships of 332 lawmakers from Senate, National Assembly (NA) and provincial assemblies for not submitting asset details.

According to the notification of the ECP, the membership of 72 from NA and 20 from Senate were suspended over non-disclosure of assets. However, the members from Punjab 20, Sindh 52, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 54 and Balochistan 19 were also suspended.

The notification stated that the lawmakers include Deputy Speaker Qasim Khan Suri, Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry, Amir Kayani, Ahsan Iqbal, Baloch National Party’s Akhtar Mengal and others.

The total number of members in the Senate, National Assembly and the four provincial assemblies is 1,174. At least 800 members have submitted asset details while the remaining has not fulfilled the requirement.

According to the election monitoring body, 839 lawmakers have submitted their assets details. Out of 1,174 lawmakers, the membership of 332 were suspended, said the ECP.

The summary of suspending the membership of the members has been approved by the chief election commissioner and the notification has been issued.

It is pertinent to mention here that the suspended lawmakers will not be able to participate in the activities of the House or participate in assembly meetings and the lawmaking process.

Earlier, the ECP reminded members of the Parliament and provincial assemblies to submit their yearly statements of assets and liabilities by December 31.

The ECP spokesperson said that those who failed to comply with the directives might risk suspension of their membership as per law. He asked the members of the parliament and provincial assemblies to submit their yearly statements of assets and liabilities as per the schedule issued by the ECP.

An ECP spokesperson said that it was a mandatory requirement under Section 137 of Elections Act 2017, under which members of Senate, NA and provincial assemblies are required to submit with the Election Commission Secretariat yearly statements of assets and liabilities, including those of their spouses and dependent children.

Must Watch