ICC World Twenty20 cup 2016 schedule announced

11 Dec, 2015 2:50 pm

LONDON (92 News) – The International Cricket Council (ICC) has on Friday announced the groups and schedule of the ICC World Twenty20 2016, which will be held across eight venues in India from 8 March to 3 April.

A total of 58 tournament matches, including 35 men’s matches and 23 women’s matches, will be played in the 27-day tournament in Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi.

New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semi-finals on 30 and 31 March, respectively, while Eden Gardens in Kolkata will be the venue of the 3 April finals. The women’s semi-finals and final will be followed by the men’s knock-out matches. There is a reserve day for the finals.

South Africa, England, the West Indies and Sri Lanka are in Group 1, while India, Pakistan, Australia and New Zealand are placed in Group 2 of the Super 10 stage, according to the schedule released Friday. The top eight teams gain direct entries to the Super 10 stage and will be joined by two of the eight other teams competing in a preliminary league.

Pakistan will lock horns with traditional rival India in Dharamsala on 19 March.

Must Watch

Oops, something went wrong.