ICC WWT20 Qualifier 2018: How it works

07 Jul, 2018 8:44 am

DUBAI (92 News) – The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier 2018 is about to get under way there! The VRA Cricket Ground in Amstelveen and Kampong Cricket Club in Utrecht will be the venues for the tournament that runs from 7 to 14 July.

Great! So, which are the teams playing?
There are eight teams in all. Bangladesh, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea and United Arab Emirates make up Group A, while Ireland, Scotland, Thailand and Uganda form Group B.

And what are they playing for?
A place in the ICC Women’s World T20 2018, which will take place in the Caribbean later this year. There are two spots up for grabs, meaning the two finalists will join Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the Windies in November.

Oh, that sounds fun.
Of course! And furthermore, all matches in the tournament have been classified as Twenty20 Internationals.

Brilliant. How do they go about deciding the winner?
The four teams in each group play three matches each, one against each opposition. At the end of the round-robin stage, the top two teams from each group progress to the semi-finals. From there, the two winners qualify for the Women’s World T20 and will also contest in the final for the title.

Isn’t it? That’s not all. There’s something for everyone. The sides that don’t make it past the semi-finals will fight to finish third in a play-off, and those that do not progress past the group stages will contest in fifth and seventh-place play-offs!

So, which are the teams to look out for?
Bangladesh and Ireland are the biggies. They are ranked ninth and 10th respectively, and are the big hopefuls for the two spots on offer. Bangladesh recently saw off India for the first time in the Women’s T20 Asia Cup final, while a green Ireland side will rely on the zest of youth to propel them.

It will, by no means, be an easy ride for either of these sides. Thailand have a reputation for being plucky opponents, Scotland and Netherlands have their own ideas to power through, and all of PNG, Uganda and UAE have a few noteworthy individuals who can cause a few upsets.

This should be a cracker.

The intrigue is in the details. The journey of the Uganda team to the Netherlands, after beating Zimbabwe in the Africa Qualifier in Windhoek, Namibia, is awe-inspiring.

The Netherlands may be the hosts, but they’re not quite feeling at home.

UAE’s Esha Oza is one of the brightest stars of the tournament.

Right. Anything else I need to know?
Much like any world event, the ICC WWT20 Qualifier will see sides from across the world clashing against each other. Uganda reached the tournament after winning the Africa Qualifier, PNG did so after winning all but one of their East Asia-Pacific Region qualifying matches. Bangladesh, Thailand and the UAE are the other Asian sides, while Scotland, Ireland and the hosts Netherlands represent Europe.

Perfect! Now I can’t wait for it to get started
We can’t either. Be sure to follow the ICC on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube for the latest news, features, video and information regarding the tournament.

Must Watch