LHC stays victory notifications of Kh Asif, Rana Sanaullah & Ijaz Shah

LHC, CTO, Safe City, legal status, e-challan
06 Aug, 2018 8:14 pm

LAHORE (92 News) – The Lahore High Court has ordered to withhold the victory notifications of PML-N’s Khawaja Asif, Rana Sanaullah and Ijaz Shah of the PTI.

Usman Dar of the PTI had moved the court for staying the victory notification of Khawaja Asif.

The court had reserved the judgment after hearing the arguments of both parties. The petitioner had made the ECP, returning officer and Khawaja Asif as parties in the case. He contended that Form 45 was not given to his polling agents. He said that his 7,346 votes were rejected, whiel Khawaja Asif had won by just 1,406 votes.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) candidate Nisar Ahmed Jutt, who lost the election Rana Sanaullah, pleaded with the court to direct the ECP to withhold its notification with regard to the PML-N leader’s win in NA-106 in the July 25 election.

The Lahore High Court had issued notices to Rana Sanaullah and other respondents. Justice Shahid Karim of the LHC issued notices to the respondents to come up with replies, explaining whether the petition was maintainable or not.

The hearing was adjourned until August 6. A vote recount has been underway in the National Assembly constituency at the request of Nisar Ahmed Jutt.

Rana Sanaullah won the NA-106 seat with 106,310 votes, defeating PTI candidate Nisar Ahmed Jutt who received 103,779 votes.

A recount in the constituency, carried out on Jutt’s request, showed Sanaullah still leading the tally with 106,137 votes and the PTI candidate trailing with 103,899 votes.

Shizra Mansab Ali of the PML-N had moved the court to withhold the victory notification of her rival Ijaz Shah of the PTI who won from NA-118 (Nankana-II).

Must Watch