Names for parliamentary committee to revisit NAB law announced

11 Jan, 2017 10:59 am

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The names for the 20-member parliamentary committee formed to revisit the National Accountability Ordinance, 1999 have been announced on Wednesday.

The first meeting of the parliamentary committee will be held today (Wednesday). The 20-members committee includes ruling party’s Zahid Hamid, Abdul Qadir Baloch, Anusha Rehman, Mahmood Bashir Virk, Mohsin Ranjha, Owais Lughari, Usman Ibrahim, Javaid Abbasi and Saud Majeed.

Other members include Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Naveed Qamar and Farhatullah Babar, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Shah Mahmood Qureshi, while Sahibzada Tariqullah, Naeema Kishwar, SA Iqbal Qadri and Aftab Sherpao will be representating their parties.

The committee will select its chairman today (Wednesday) in its first meeting and Law Minister Zahid hamid is the strongest candidate for the chairmanship.

The committee will revisit the National Accountability Ordinance 1999 and recommend necessary amendments to it.

The committee has been tasked to present its report within three months. It may make rules to regulate its procedures.

Must Watch