Pakistan beat Hong Kong by eight wickets in Asia Cup 2018

16 Sep, 2018 10:01 pm

DUBAI (92 News) – Pakistani team defeated Hong Kong by Eight wickets in the second match of Asia Cup 2018 in Dubai.

Pakistan has been put in to chase 117 runs by Hong Kong. At the dinner interval, Fakhar Zaman and Imamul Haq have taken the team to 35/0 without being too expansive with their shot making.

Earlier, Hong Kong won the toss and opted to bat. They started well with good intentions – 11 runs to Mohammed Amir. But Pakistani bowlers shine as Hong Kong bowled out for 116 runs.

Soon they were 44/5 losing wickets quickly before Kinchit Shah and Aizaz Khan put together 53 runs. Usman Khan took three wickets to bring up the tail. However he went off the field for a foot injury.

Usman Shinwari (3/19), Hasan Ali (2/19) and Shadab Khan (2/31) bagged seven wickets between them as Pakistan restricted Hong Kong to 116 in their first match of the Asia Cup at Dubai Cricket Stadium in UAE.

Aizaz Khan (27) and Kitchit Shah (26) top scored for Hong Kong and build a fifty-run partnership but Pakistani blowers were simple too good to handle for the Aisan side.

This is Hong Kong’s lowest total against Pakistan. Mohammad Amir looked rusty and out of rhythm as he failed to get a single wicket in his 7 over.

The match has been started at Dubai International Cricket Stadium at 4:30.

Pakistan had won the Asia Cup title in 2012. In 2016, team could not qualify for final however, this time, captain of Pakistan cricket team Sarfraz Ahmed has expressed hopes for victory in Asia Cup 2108.

On the other hand, Hong Kong has qualified for Asia Cup 2018 after a period of ten years. A day earlier, in the opening match in Dubai, Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka by 137 runs.



Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Fakhar Zaman, Imam ul Haq, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Usman Khan Shinwari

Hong Kong:

Anshuman Rath (c), Scott McKechnie (wk), Nizakat Khan, Babar Hayat, Kinchit Shah, Christopher Carter, Ehsan Khan, Aizaz Khan, Tanwir Afzal, Ehsan Nawaz, Nadeem Ahmed.


Must Watch