Pakistan beat West Indies to seal series

12 Apr, 2017 9:32 am

GUYANA (92 News) – Shoaib Malik scored an unbeaten century as Pakistan beat West Indies by six wickets to clinch victory in their one day international series in Guyana.

Malik sealed the win — and his ton — in spectacular fashion, smashing a six off West Indies captain Jason Holder to wrap up victory with nearly seven overs to spare.

Malik’s 101, which included two sixes and ten fours, was matched by an assured 81 from Mohammad Hafeez as Pakistan finished on 236 for four in reply to the home side’s 233 for nine. “I can’t thank Hafeez enough for the way he played because he took all the pressure off me,” said Malik after collecting both the “Man of the Match” and “Man of the Series” awards.


West Indies skipper Jason Holder won the toss and elected to bat first on a slow Guyana track, as they posted an average total of 233 for 9 in 50 overs, courtesy of Shai Hope’s 71 and Jason Mohammed’s 59, while Mohammad Aamer, Junaid Khan and Shadab Khan claimed a couple of wickets each.

As for their chase, Pakistan were off to a shaky start, when they lost Kamran Akmal for an unfortunate duck off the very first ball by Shannon Gabriel. And with just 16 runs on the board, it was fellow opener Ahmed Shehzad, who too fell for mere three to Holder in the sixth over.

Pakistan skipper, Sarfraz Ahmed credited Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez for playing really well. Reckons that the target was not that easy but the way Hafeez and Malik played, it looked really easy. He congratulated his team for playing good cricket throughout.




West Indies Innings  
E. Lewis                  c Hafeez b J. Khan          16  
C. Walton                 b H. Ali                    19  
K. Powell                 st S. Ahmed b Wasim         23  
S. Hope                   c Malik b S. Khan           71  
J. Mohammed               c S. Ahmed b J. Khan        59  
J. Carter                 b S. Khan                   11  
J. Holder                 c S. Khan b Amir            12  
A. Nurse                  not out                     10  
V. Permaul                c Hafeez b Amir             8   
D. Bishoo                 run out (Amir)              0   
Extras                    (lb-1 w-3)                  4   
Total                     (for 9 wickets, 50 overs)   233 
Fall of wickets: 1-31 E. Lewis,2-40 C. Walton,3-68 K. Powell,4-169 J. Mohammed,5-192 J. Carter,6-211 S. Hope,7-219 J. Holder,8-231 V. Permaul,9-233 D. Bishoo
Did not bat: S. Gabriel

Bowling Mohammad Amir 9 - 0 - 41 - 2 Junaid Khan 10 - 0 - 60 - 2(w-1) Hasan Ali 6 - 1 - 29 - 1 Mohammad Hafeez 7 - 0 - 21 - 0(w-1) Imad Wasim 10 - 1 - 24 - 1 Shadab Khan 8 - 0 - 57 - 2(w-1) Pakistan Innings Kamran Akmal c K. Powell b Gabriel 0 Ahmed Shehzad c Hope b Holder 3 Babar Azam b Gabriel 16 Mohammad Hafeez c Permaul b Nurse 81 Shoaib Malik not out 101 Sarfraz Ahmed not out 24 Extras (b-3 lb-4 nb-1 w-3) 11 Total (for 4 wickets, 43.1 overs) 236 Fall of wickets: 1-0 K. Akmal,2-16 A. Shehzad,3-36 B. Azam,4-149 M. Hafeez Did not bat: I. Wasim, S. Khan, M. Amir, H. Ali, J. Khan
Bowling S. Gabriel 10 - 0 - 60 - 2(nb-1 w-1) J. Holder 8.1 - 1 - 37 - 1(w-1) D. Bishoo 10 - 1 - 42 - 0(w-1) V. Permaul 4 - 0 - 31 - 0 A. Nurse 10 - 0 - 49 - 1 J. Mohammed 1 - 0 - 10 - 0 Referees Umpire: Simon Fry Umpire: Joel Wilson TV umpire: Ian Gould Match referee: Jeff Crowe Result: Pakistan won by 6 wickets -Reuters

Must Watch