Parliamentary leaders meet to discuss IoK, situation along LoC

03 Oct, 2016 10:56 am

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has on Monday convened a meeting to evolve a joint response on Indian-occupied Kashmir and the situation along the Line of Control (LoC).

The leaders of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and Jamaat-t-Islami have started arriving at the venue to participate in the meeting after the leaders of all the parliamentary parties except Awami Muslim League’s (AML) Sheikh Rashid were invited.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan strongly protest against not inviting Sheikh Rashid in the meeting. In his tweet, Imran Khan said that if government is seeking national consensus on Kashmir why has Sheikh Rashid not been invited when other parties with single representative the in Parliament?

“Discriminating against Sheikh Rashid reflects a petty and intolerant mindset which cannot evolve national consensus,” he added.

The Parliamentary leaders are meeting to evolve consensus on situation arising out of Indian aggression along the LoC.

Those accepted their participation are included, JUI-Chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party Chief Mehmood Khan Achakzai, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, PTI leader Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Awami National Party leader Ghulam Ahmed Bilour, National Party Chief Hasil Bizenjo and MQM leader Farooq Sattar have committed their participation in the conference.

On the other hand, President Mamnoon Hussain has summoned joint session of the Parliament in Islamabad on Wednesday at 4:30 in the evening. The session will discuss unprovoked aggression of Indian security forces across the Line of Control and deteriorating situation in Occupied Kashmir.

Must Watch