PCB awards: Mohammad Abbas, Hasan Ali, Javeria Khan win big

09 Aug, 2018 8:30 am

KARACHI (92 News) – Mohammad Abbas and Hasan Ali won the top honours at the annual Pakistan Cricket Board awards held on Wednesday, 8 August, for their performances with the ball through 2017-18.

Abbas, who made his debut in April 2017, was declared the best Test player for his 27 wickets in the stipulated period, including a match-winning eight wickets at Lord’s this summer.

Ali, the who is ranked No. 3 in the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Rankings for Bowlers, won the prize in the one-day international format, where he scalped 33 wickets.

Hasan Ali is ranked third on the MRF ICC ODI Bowling Rankings

Babar Azam was the best T20 player of the year, while all-rounder Faheem Ashraf, who made a crucial 83 on Test debut against Ireland this year, won the best emerging player award.

Fakhar Zaman’s exploits with the bat in the 50-over format didn’t go unnoticed as he was presented with a ‘special award for outstanding performance’. He had not only become the fastest to 1000 runs in ODIs but also the first Pakistani ODI double-centurion.

As for the women, Sana Mir, No.5 on the MRF Tyres ICC bowling and all-rounder rankings, was named best ODI player of the year. Javeria Khan won that honour in T20Is after her productive series in Sri Lanka, before performing consistently in the Asia Cup 2018 as well. It was one of two awards for the evening for her.


Sarfraz Ahmed, Pakistan men’s captain across formats, won the Imtiaz Ahmed award for ‘Spirit of Cricket’.

PCB showers money all around in cricket awards

Pakistan cricket team captain Sarfraz Ahmed was awarded Imtiaz Ahmed ‘spirit of the cricket’ and Rs 1 million while Fakhar Zaman was presented a ‘special award for outstanding performance’ and Rs 2.5 million for becoming the player to score fastest 1,000 runs in ODI cricket and scoring first double century for Pakistan in the same format.


Imtiaz Ahmed Spirit of Cricket Award Sarfraz Ahmed Rs 1 million
Special Award for Outstanding Performance Fakhar Zaman Rs 2.5 million
Best Test Player of the Year (Men) M Abbas (27 wkts) Rs 600,000
Best ODI Player of the Year (Men) Hasan Ali (33 wkts) Rs 600,000
Best ODI Player (Women) Sana Mir (259 runs & 21 wckts) Rs 600,000
Best T20 Player of the Year (Men) Babar Azam (489 runs) Rs 600,000
Best T20 Player (Women) Javeria Khan (173 runs) Rs 600,000
Emerging Player (Men) Faheem Ashraf Rs 600,000
Emerging Player (Women) Diana Baig Rs 600,000
Best Batsman Domestic (Men) Shan Masood (1857 runs) Rs 500,000
Best Batswoman Domestic (Women) Javeria Khan (356 runs) Rs 500,000
Best Bowler Domestic (Men) Aizaz Cheema (78 wkts) Rs 500,000
Best Bowler Domestic (Women) Diana Baig (18 wkts) Rs 500,000
Best Wicketkeeper Domestic (Men) Kamran Akmal (54 victims) Rs 500,000
Best Wicketkeeper (Women) Sidra Nawaz (27 victims) Rs 500,000
Best Player of the Year (Blind) Amir Ishfaq Rs 500,000
Best Player of the Year (Deaf & Dumb) M Naveed Qamar Rs 500,000
Best Player of the Year (Disable) Nihaar Alam Rs 500,000
Best Umpire of the Year M Asif Yaqoob Rs 300,000
Best Coach of Year Sajjad Akber (LRCA) Rs 300,000
Best Referee of the Year M Anees (Lahore) Rs 300,000
Best Scorer of the Year Azhar Hussain (Lahore) Rs 200,000
Best Curator of the Year Riaz Ahmed (Rawalpindi Stadium) Rs 200,000








Must Watch