Peshawar Zalmi beat Karachi Kings by 61 runs

Darren karachi Karachi Kings Lahore Qalandars Multan Sultans Peshawar Zalmi PSL Quetta Gladiators Sammy
11 Mar, 2019 10:43 pm

KARACHI (92 News) – Peshawar Zalmi beat Karachi Kings by 61 runs in today’s second fixture of Pakistan Super League (PSL) at the National Stadium Karachi on Monday.

Peshawar Zalmi really don’t need a 200-plus total. Not with that bowling attack. Hasan Ali struck in the first over and when he came back in the death, he was reversing the white-ball (which is basically unheard of) Tymal Mills is the fastest bowler in the PSL and he also has a superb slower ball.

He took out Colin Ingram, the one Karachi batsman who looked in any way dangerous, and once he fell for 71 off only 37 balls, the chase was done. Ingram was the sixth to fall with the score on 125. The 10th fell with the score on 142.

Peshawar Zalmi set 204-run target for Karachi Kings. Kamran Akmal was in rare form, slog sweeping and flat-batting his way towards a hundred. With the pitch being so flat and Karachi’s bowling attack looking even flatter, he could have easily got there.

Kamran Akmal’s Still 86 off 48 is a pretty good innings for an opening batsman in T20s and with Imam also chipping in with a fifty, Peshawar have a 200-plus total on board and a pretty cool bowling attack to defend it.

Special mention to Mohammad Amir who finished with 3 for 24 on a day when all his team-mates went for nine or ten an over.

Karachi Kings have won the toss and elected to field first against Peshawar Zalmi. Mohammad Aamir has made a return in the team in place of Aamer Yamin.

Earlier in the today’s first fixture Multan Sultans beat Lahore qalandars by 7 wickets.

Karachi Kings Peshawar Zalmi PSL Karachi Sammy Darren Lahore Qalandars Multan Sultans Quetta Gladiators

Karachi Kings’ thrilling one-run win over Quetta Gladiators last night eliminated the Fakhar Zaman XI from the race to the playoffs. This is the fourth time in as many years that Lahore Qalandars have failed to make it to the playoffs. Multan Sultans were already eliminated earlier.

The ongoing tournament proved to be another disappointment for the Fawad Rana-owned Lahore, who despite sporting some of the biggest stars from around the world, including former South Africa captain AB de Villiers, could only manage three victories from their nine games so far.

Multan Sultans, who had a change of ownership prior to the fourth edition of the tournament, fared worse with only two wins out of their nine matches.

Top-ranked Quetta Gladiators, second-placed Peshawar Zalmi, defending champions Islamabad United and Karachi Kings are through to the playoffs.

Fans in Karachi excited to see the Darren Sammy and his team in action, after exactly around a year ago when Peshawar Zalmi faced and lost to Islamabad United in the final of the Pakistan Super League 2018 in cricket’s homecoming to the National Stadium.

Karachi Kings would have been boosted by yesterday’s dramatic win and with their newly gained momentum, another great contest looks to be on the cards.


Karachi Kings: Imad Wasim (c), Colin Munro, Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Colin Ingram, Usman Shinwari, Mohammad Rizwan, Ravi Bopara, Sikandar Raza, Awais Zia, Usama Mir, Aaron Summers, Sohail Khan, Iftekhar Ahmed, Ali Imran, Abrar Ahmed, Aamir Yamin, Ben Dunk, Liam Livingstone, Jahid Ali, Umer Khan

Peshawar Zalmi: Darren Sammy (c), Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kieron Pollard, Kamran Akmal, Misbah ul Haq, Liam Dawson, Dawid Malan, Umar Amin, Umaid Asif, Khalid Usman, Wayne Madsen, Sohaib Maqsood, Jamal Anwar, Sameen Gul, Nabi Gul, Andre Fletcher, Chris Jordan, Ibtesam Sheikh, Samiullah, Tymal Mills

Must Watch