PM reconstitutes CPEC committee ahead of China visit

19 Oct, 2018 3:57 pm

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – Ahead of his China visit, Prime Minister Imran Khan on Friday reconstituted the cabinet’s special committee on the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) with extension of more members.

As per details garnered, more ministers have been added to the CPEC committee. The 12-member committee will be led by Minister of Planning and Development Khusro Bakhtiar.

The committee will include the finance, interior, foreign affairs, Railways, petroleum, law and communications ministers. The ministers of power and maritime affairs are also part of the committee.

It includes the advisers to the prime minister on commerce and institutional reforms as well. The reports of all CPEC projects will be presented to PM Khan by the committee.

Meanwhile, the premier is scheduled to visit China on a three-day official visit on November 3.

Earlier in the last month, the prime minister formed a cabinet committee to look after the China–Pakistan Economic Corridor. As per the official notification, a nine-member committee was constituted to overview the CPEC which is headed by the Minister of Planning and Development Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar.

Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Minister of Law and Justice Farogh Naseem, Finance Minister Asad Umar, Minister of Petroleum Division Ghulam Sarwar Khan, Railways Minister Sheikh Rashid and PM’s adviser on Commerce, Textile, Industry and Production and Investment are also the members of the committee.

Must Watch