PML-N, MQM suffer defeat in Balochistan & Sindh respectively

03 Mar, 2018 9:20 pm

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) suffered setbacks in Balcohistan and Sindh respectively, while the PTI won a seat from Punjab in the Senate election on Saturday.

The PML-N won 11 seats, out of total 12, in Punjab.

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results, Haroon Akhtar Khan, Asif Kirmani, Rana Maqbool, Khalid Shaheen Butt, Musaddaq Malik, Ishaq Dar, Saadia Khaqan Abbasi, Nuzhat Sadiq and Kamran Michael were declared successful.

Ch Muhammad Sarwar of the PTI won the general seat from Punjab.

PML-N backed Mushahid Syed won the technocrat seat from Islamabad. Asad Junejo was declared successful on the general seat of Islamabad.

In Balochistan, the PML-N suffered a setback where no party backed candidate won the seat. However, four members of the PML-N estranged group won six seats.

Four independent candidates won the general seats, while one each seat was won by the National Party, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Party and the JUI. The government alliance and the National Party won one each seat of the technocrats.

Anwar Kakar and Khuda Babar were also declared successful. Muhammad Yousaf of the Pakhtunkhwa Milli Party was also elected the senator.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the PTI grabbed five seats, out of total 11 seats. The PPP won two seats, while two PML-N backed candidates also were declared successful. The JUI-F and the JI won one each seat.

In Sindh, the PPP won 10 seats – five each general and reserved – out of total 12. Raza Rabbani, Maula Bakhsh Chandio, Imam Din Shauqeen, Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar, Muhammad Ali Jamot were elected senators on the general seats.

Sikandar Mandhero and Rukhsana Zuberi won the technocrat seats. Krishna Kolhi and Quratul Ain Marri won the reserved seats for women. Anwar Lal Din won the minority seat.

Owing to infighting, the MQM could hardly secure the seat of Farogh Naseem. PSP backed Muzaffar Hussain Shah of the PML-F was also elected the senator.

From the FATA, Hadaytullah, Halaur Rahman, Shamim Afridi and Mirza Muhammad Afridi won the general seats. PTI’s Mehr Taj Roghani was the seat reserved for women.

Must Watch