Political parties lock horns in contest of 24 LA seats of GB

08 Jun, 2015 9:40 am

GILGIT (92 News) – Major political parties of the country including Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), All Pakistan Muslim League (APML), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI) and Islami Tehreek-i-Pakistan (ITP) and others lock their horns in the Gilgit-Baltistan (GB) Legislative Assembly elections today (Monday).

As per reports, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has completed arrangements to hold the elections in a free, fair and transparent manner. In all, 272 candidates are in the field against 24 Legislative Assembly seats. Over 1,143 polling stations have been for 617,000 registered voters. The ECP dispatched ballot papers to all polling stations under the supervision of Pakistan Army.

The Gilgit-Baltistan Home Department has banned public gatherings, rallies, display of arms, aerial firing, disputed sloganeering and illegal use of loud speakers in and around the polling stations during the election day. Polling will be held from 8am to 5pm without any break.


Must Watch