Polling ends for 52 vacant seats of Senate

03 Mar, 2018 4:08 pm

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The polling for 52 vacant seats of the Senate ended in all the provincial assemblies as well as the National Assembly.

Former interior minister Ch Nisar also cast his vote. Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi cast his vote in the National Assembly.

Speaker Ayaz Sadiq also cast his vote. In the Punjab Assembly, the first vote was cast by Rana Sanaullah.

As many as 135 candidates were in the race for the 52 seats of the Upper House.

The Rangers and FC jawans had been deployed outside the four provincial assemblies and Parliament House.

The polling continued until 4pm. A ban was imposed on the use of mobile phones in the polling stations. Unofficial results will be announced shortly.

Twelve seats each in Sindh and the Punjab and 11 seats each in Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa were up for grabs. Polling for four Federally Administrated Tribal Areas seats and Islamabad’s two seats was also held at the Parliament House. The FATA members will elect two senators on general seats and two on technocrat seats. Of the 12 FATA seats in the National Assembly, two are currently vacant.

For Islamabad seats, the successful candidates would require a majority of the National Assembly. For FATA and technocrat seats, the voters will cast two votes each, indicating their priority.

Must Watch