Polling under way in NA-19 Haripur by-elections

16 Aug, 2015 4:31 pm

HARIPUR (92 News) – Polling is underway for by-election on NA-19 constituency on Haripur on Sunday, with biometric systems being used for the first time on an experimental basis.

The Deputy Returning Officer said that the biometric system is being used on the demand of the candidates in 30 polling stations.

First the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Amir Zaman won the seat in 2013 general elections but later, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidate Umer Ayub won the seat, when the Election Commission ordered re-polling in seven polling stations in 2014.

When Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Amir Zaman submitted application, the Supreme Court ordered to hold elections again.

It will be a tough contest between the PTI’s Amir Zaman and PLM-N’s Babr Nawaz.

Over 5,70,480 registered voters including over 3,18,161 male voters and 2,59,319 female voters will exercise their right to vote.

The Election Commission has established 513 polling stations among which 209 have been declared sensitive, while 15,000 police officials and 2,150 army officials have been monitoring the by-polls.

NA-19 is the biggest constituency in the country.

Must Watch