Polling underway for by-election in AJK’s LA-III

AJK AJK’s LA-III mirpur PML-N polling PTI
24 Nov, 2019 8:00 am

MUZAFFARABAD (92 News) – Polling underway for the by-election on LA-III Mirpur, Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJ) on Sunday.

The Polling began morning in AJK’s Mirpur to re-elect its provincial representative. The main contest is between Sohail Syed of the Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) and Barrister Sultan Mahmood of the PTI.

The polling that started at 8 am will continue till 5 pm without any break. The AJK Election Commission has established 119 polling stations to facilitate the voters.

A total of 59,494 registered voters including 27,004 women will exercise their democratic right to elect their repetitive.

It is noteworthy that a by-election was called in LA-3 after the court de-seated PML-N’s Chaudhry Syed.

A total of eight candidates are contesting the election, however strong contest is expected between Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Barrister Sultan Mehmood Chauhdary and candidate PML-N Suhaib Saeed.

Strict security measures have been put in place to ensure smooth polling and deter any untoward incident.

Must Watch