PPP’s Siraj Durrani sworn in as Sindh Assembly speaker

15 Aug, 2018 2:20 pm

KARACHI (92 News) – Pakistan Peoples’ Party candidate Agha Siraj Durrani on Wednesday took oath as Speaker of Sindh Assembly for second consecutive period defeating the opposition candidate, Javed Hanif.

Presiding Officer of the election, Mir Nadir Magsi took oath from the newly elected speaker. Agha Siraj Durrani secured ninety-six votes while his opponent Javed Hanif got fifty-nine votes. Votes of three members were rejected.

Meanwhile, PPP’s Rehana Leghari elected as the Sindh Assembly deputy speaker. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Rabia Azfar Nizami was runner up for deputy speakership.

Earlier, three more members of the provincial assembly took oath of their offices. At the moment, voting for the election of Deputy Speaker is in progress in the House.

PPP’s Rehana Leghari and joint opposition’s Rabia Azfar are contesting for the slot.

Must Watch