Wednesday, March 3, 2021
Urdu Web Newspaper Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)
Urdu Web Newspaper
Live-TV(UK) Live-TV(PK)

PSL 2019: Lahore beat Multan by six wickets

PSL 2019: Lahore beat Multan by six wickets
February 22, 2019
SHARJAH (92 News) – Lahore Qalandars beat Multan Sultans by six wickets in the 4th edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) at the Sharjah Cricket Ground on Friday. Lahore Qalandars pulled off a record 201-run chase on the very last ball of the innings courtesy aesthetically beautiful batting display by opener Fakhar Zaman, skipper AB De Villiers and David Wiese. Junaid Khan took three important wickets including Fakhar Zaman, Salman Butt and Agha Salman. He was good but not good enough. Khan picked key wickets at key moments of the game but his no-ball to Wiese overshadowed the performance.
First Innings
Multan Sultans set 201-run target for Lahore Qalandarsin. The openers opened account and scored 137-run partnership helped to made big target of 201 runs. JM Vince secured 84 runs and Umar Siddique bagged 53. lahore Lahore Qalandars PSL PSL 2019 PSL 4 Quetta Quetta Gladiators Sharja The feared trio, Shaheen-Rahat-Haris, failed to give the much-needed timely breakthrough as opener James Vince managed to score 84 off 41 with seven boundaries and six sixes on a 204.87 strike rate before being dismissed by legspinner S Lamichhane. The legspinner also took the crucial wickets of skipper Shoaib Malik and Andre Russel after conceding as many as 46 runs in his four-over quota. Earlier today , Lahore Qalandars won the toss and elected to field first against Multan Sultans. The match promised to be a battle between pace and power-hitting. After leaving skipper Mohammad Hafeez, Lahore Qalandars have a new leader in South Africa’s AB de Villiers and a replacement in the form of Salman Butt, who will be playing in his first high-profile tournament since his high-profile ban for a spot-fixing scandal which erupted on Pakistan's 2010 tour of England. The left-handed batsman, who represented Pakistan in 33 Tests, 78 one-day internationals and 24 T20 matches before his five-year ban, joined the Qalandars camp in Sharjah a day earlier and is expected to make his PSL debut today. Qalandars have mainly been relying on their pace attack, which is made up of teen sensation Shaheen Shah Afridi, a resurgent Rahat Ali, and rising star Haris Rauf, who bowled his side to a dramatic victory –Qalandars’ only win out of three games so far – against Karachi Kings with a four-wicket haul. Multan Sultans are in a similar boat, with only one win out of three matches despite the presence of star power in the form of Shoaib Malik and Shahid Afridi. The Sultans lost to Karachi Kings in their opening fixture before coming back with a bang to defeat defending champions Islamabad United. However, they stood no chance against table-toppers Quetta Gladiators who beat them by a comprehensive eight wickets on Wednesday as skipper Malik’s 53 off 37 balls went in vain. The match started at 4:30pm Pakistan Standard Time. Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Salman Butt, AB de Villiers (captain), Sohail Akhtar, Salman Agha, Brendan Taylor, David Wiese, Sandeep Lamichhane, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Rahat Ali Multan Sultans: James Vince, Laurie Evans, Umar Siddiq, Shoaib Malik (captain), Dan Christian, Andre Russell, Hammad Azam, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Ilyas,  Irfan Khan, Mohammad Irfan
PSL points table: