PTI’s Mehmood Khan elected as new KP chief minister

16 Aug, 2018 2:54 pm

PESHAWAR (92 News) – Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) nominee Mehmood Khan has been elected as the new chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in Peshawar.

Mehmood Khan secured seventy-seven votes while his rival Mian Nisar Gul of MMA got thirty-three votes. Mehmood Khan belongs to Matta area of Swat. After taking oath, he will become the first chief minister from Malakand Division.

The PTI formed his government second time in the KP. The party made a history after electing his KP chief minister again at second time.

Addressing to the session, newly-elected chief minister said that the government will run the government affairs with the opposition consultations.

Earlier on August 8, likely to be prime minster Imran Khan nominated MPA-elect Mehmood Khan as candidates for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s next chief minister.

After nomination, Mehmood Khan said that rumours surrounding his nomination are false and he is only planted by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan.

Mehmood Khan, who was elected from PK-9 Swat-VIII constituency of KP Assembly, will lead the KP assembly as the chief minister.

Must Watch