Rehbar Committee names Hasil Bizenjo for post of Senate chairman

Rehbar committee, hasil bizenjo, PPP, PML-N
11 Jul, 2019 1:50 pm

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The opposition’s Rehbar Committee have agreed over the name of National Party Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo for the candidate of Senate chairman on Thursday.

Addressing a press conference, the opposition parties Rehbar Committee formally announced the name of candidate as Hasil Bizenjo for the slot of Senate chairman after meeting.

During the meeting, the opposition parties have decided to nominate the candidate from Balochistan to replace incumbent chairman Sadiq Sanjrani who was also elected as senator from the province.

All the members of Rehbar Committee attended the session and two names from Balochistan Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo and Mir Kabir Shahi were under consideration to the opposition leaders and they reached to consensus over the name of Mir Hasil Khan.

After the meeting, Rehbar Committee member Akram Durrani said that the name of Hasil Bizenjo was selected after consultations of all members. He also said that they will try to make him successful during the Senate election. “I hope Bizenjo will win the election with heavy margin and become Senate chairman,” he claimed.

A day earlier, PML-N vice-president Maryam Nawaz, daughter of former premier Nawaz Sharif, made a phone call to PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari.  Both leaders exchanged their views on the political situation.

Sources said that Maryam Nawaz and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari had also discussed the issue of de-seating the Senate chairman.

Moreover, they also talked about the proposed anti-government movement.

Opposition submits ‘no-trust motion’ against Senate chairman

The opposition in the Senate on Tuesday submitted a “no-trust motion” against Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani.

According to the details, the 11-member opposition’s anti-government Rahbar Committee had moved a resolution and requisition to summon a session of Senate. The resolution was signed by 38 senators before submission of resolution as no-trust motion.

Prior to the submission of motion, the opposition’s Rahbar Committee held a meeting for consensus to remove the chairman Senate. The senators belonging to the opposition thrash out a strategy for the no-confidence motion.

The meeting chaired by Opposition Leader in Senate Raja Zafarul Haq, who had lost to Sanjrani in last year’s polls for the office of Senate chairman.

The Rahbar committee will hold a second session on July 11, where it will likely announce the name of joint candidate for the post of Chairman Senate.

Must Watch