Rehbar Committee to announce candidate for Senate chairman on July 11

Rehbar comittee PPP PML-N APC senate chariman senate
05 Jul, 2019 4:57 pm

ISLAMABAD (92 News) – The opposition’s Rehbar Committee held on Friday and decided to announce the joint candidate for Senate chairman on July 11.

The 11 member committee of opposition parties held its first meeting in Islamabad, took an oath of confidentiality and formulated a policy to run anti-government movement.

Two members each from Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) and the Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP), while one member each makes up the Rahbar Committee.

The committee decided about future course of action in the meeting, including the removal of Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani.

After the meeting, JUIF-leader Akram Khan Durrani said that he had been chosen convener for the next two months. He mentioned that the position will rotate among all member parties.

Durrani also announced that the opposition parties had formally decided to remove Sanjrani from his post. A resolution will be submitted in Senate on July 9 in this regard, he said.

The JUI-F leader termed that Rehbar Committee will announce a new name for the Senate chairman on July 11 after further deliberation. He also announced that the opposition would observe July 25 as a ‘black day’, adding that they also decided to conduct political rally from July 25 at provincial level.

Former Senate chairman Nayyar Hussain Bukhari and Farhatullah Babar represented PPP, while former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and interior minister Ahsan Iqbal represent PML-N at the meeting.

From Jamiat Ulema-e Islam (F) Akram Khan Durrani, Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo from National Party, Usman Khan Kakar from Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party, Qaumi Watan Party’s Hashim Babar, Mian Ifthikhar from Awami National Party, Shafiq Pasrori and Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan’s Owais Noorani attended the meeting of the Rahbar Committee.

Must Watch